Writing: Fun Words

image

WRITING: Fun Words For You And Your Family

I’ve been on a kick lately. No, I’m not sure what kind of kick, and no, I don’t know if that’s a proper use of that phrase at all.

But here lately, I’ve been super into writing down words I don’t know and find interesting. There are a lot of ’em, buddy. I’m going to give you some of my words–which, I know, is technically what I do every time I sit down to write a blog–but these words are awesome words, so that has to count for something.

Go on. Use them in a sentence. Impress your family and friends. Or, even better–use them all in the same sentence. If you post it here, you’ll have my mad respect, which isn’t worth a lot of money, but might make you feel better.

I’m going to even be so bold as to propose something (not marriage, don’t get your heart set). Maybe you should write down words you don’t know for a week, and write a similar post. We can all share words. It’ll be like a giant word-sharing orgy up in here. Our critics may call us shameless and dissolute, but it’ll be okay, because we’ll know what that means.

This is the part where I’d usually talk briefly about how important a good vocabulary is for a writer, but hell. If you don’t know that already, why are you writing? Let’s just get to the good stuff and lookit some words. If you guys like this enough, maybe I’ll make it a once a week thing. I could use the practice too.

Jejune (learn all about the controversy here).
Megrims
Pettifogger
Suppurate
Cadaverine–yes, there’s a word for this.
Sybarite
Karoshi
Hexerei–this is one of those fun Pennsylvania Dutch words.
Haruspex–disturbingly, this is a word I’ve needed several times in my life, but never known…
Solander–yes, there is a word for these damn things. Every time I see them in a home goods store, a part of me wants to go ‘fuck you guys, that isn’t a real book.’

BECAUSE WORDS.

I should note–I don’t give two shits about using the best dictionary ever. I want to know what a word means, not whether or not you approve of dictionary.com.

2 thoughts on “Writing: Fun Words

    1. Sadly, you only have two choices that afford you this opportunity: work in a courtroom, or become a criminal.

      It probably IS totally worth it. Right, off to rob a convenience store now… 😛

Leave a Reply

